Top Menu

International Graduate Centre of Education

ARMM scholars successfully complete course

ARMM Scholars

Left to right - Norhaifa Mamainte, Delhana Uto, Romeo Perez, Sherline Balik Ismael and Rowena Sakir

Friday, July 8, 2016

We said goodbye to five very special Master of Education (International) students on Friday. Romeo Perez, Delhana Uto, Norhaifa Mamainte, Rowena Sakir, and Sherline Ismael joined us in 2015 on full scholarships from the Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) in the Philippines. ARMM is made up of five predominately Muslim provinces, which include Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi. These five regions have traditionally been the homeland of Muslim Filipinos since the 15th century, even before the arrival of the Spanish. They have a long standing tradition of sovereignty and independence and are the only region in the Philippines to have their own government.

In partnership with the Philippines-Australia Human Resources and Organizational Development Facility (PAHRODF), the Department of Education in the Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao awarded these five scholars the prestigious Australia Awards Scholarship. Now that our scholars have completed their Master of Education course, they will return to their respective provinces to promote innovative leadership practices through re-entry action plans in their organisations. These action plans are a practical feature of the Australia Awards that empowers our scholars to implement development programs and apply their postgraduate knowledge to enact positive change.

  • Call us
  • Email us
  • Like us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter