Top Menu

International Graduate Centre of Education

Digital futures for NT schools

This project will investigate the current application of digital technology and appropriate pedagogy in a sample of schools in Darwin Australia.

This project focuses on futures thinking through a process called scenario planning. The aim is to identify key trends and challenges that map out a range of plausible digital futures for schools in the Northern Territory for the year 2030. Led by Dr Jon Mason, this CDU LEBA Medium Grant was awarded in late 2016.

This project is linked to Digital Technology and Shifting Pedagogy Towards Future Schools: a comparative study.

The purpose of this project is therefore to:
1.    Identify current availability of digital technology to teachers and to students
2.    Identify the current use of digital technology and ICT-based pedagogy by teachers and students in their teaching and learning including their attitudes towards the application of digital technology to teaching and learning
3.    Involve teachers in a structured process of critical reflection of their future practice involving digital technology and ICT-based pedagogy and what they could do to prepare themselves for the rapidly changing world of the classrooms
4.    Develop a set of overarching strategies and imperatives to increase the uptake and use of digital technology and ICT-based pedagogy by teachers currently and working towards 2030.

Dr Jon MasonDr Jon Mason
Theme Leader- Digital Education Futures theme
T: 08 8946 6632
E: jon.mason@cdu.edu.au
Dr Laurence Tamatea

Professor Laurence Tamatea
Head of School
T: 08 8946 6357
E: laurence.tamatea@cdu.edu.au

Dr Greg ShawAssociate Professor Greg Shaw
Teacher Education
T: 08 8946 7305
E: greg.shaw@cdu.edu.au
Greg SmithDr Gregory Smith
Senior Lecturer in Education
T: 08 8946 6320
E: gregory.smith@cdu.edu.au
dr khalid khanDr Khalid Khan
Education Lecturer
T: 08 8946 6963
E: khalid.khan@cdu.edu.au
Dr Ania lian

Dr Ania Lian
Senior Lecturer in Teaching and Learning
T: 08 8946 6107
E: ania.lian.cdu.edu.au

Dr Gretchen GengDr Gretchen Geng
Associate Professor in Teaching and Learning
T: 08 8946 7623
E: gretchen.geng@cdu.edu.au
  • Call us
  • Email us
  • Like us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter